The empowerment of Barbadian men and women that can come from education was of great importance to Errol and Nita Barrow. The purpose of the Trust was to provide financial assistance to those who would not otherwise receive it, to enable them to pursue a course of studies that will enable them to contribute to the development of Barbados and the Caribbean.


The Trustees have made awards in traditional and non-traditional disciplines, including agriculture, architecture, art administration, cricket studies, criminology, drama, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, finance, forensic science, hotel and catering, information technology, music and water management. Awards have tended to be up to $10,000.


Since its inception, more than 100 persons have benefited from awards.  Past recipients include Dr. Marcia Burrowes, Mr. Gregory Clarke, Mr. Frank Davidson, Ms. Julia Davis, Ms. Janet Dash, Ms. Ruth Durant, Mr. Ian Gibbs, Mr. Dwayne Greaves, Ms. Leslie Greig, Ms. Yolande Forde, Ms. Alicia Hayde, Mr. Anthony Haynes, Ms. Laura Harewood, Mr. Christopher Harper, Dr. Sean Jackson, Mr. Anreco Ramsay, Mr. Brian Reece, Ms. Carolyn Providence, Ms. Inga Sandiford, Ms. Frances Scott, Mr. Richard Skeete, Ms. Diana Squires, Mr. Ryan Straughn, Ms. Jennifer Griffth-Straughn, Ms. Shelly Weir and Mr. Barry Wilkinson.


2020 Awardees

The 2020 Awards were presented to seven (7) worthy students – 4 female and 3 males in the areas of Law; Health and Mental Health; Loss, Grief and Trauma Management; Instructional Design and Technology; Computer Science; Epidemiology; and Global Hospitality Business Development. The awardees are from Barbados - 6 awardees, and from St. Vincent and the Grenadines - 1 award. The 2020 Awards Ceremony was held at The Sands in Barbados on Tuesday 11th August 2020.

Errol Barrow and the Mirror Speech
The following is a letter from Mr. Damian MacBride, former press secretary to former British
Prime Minister, Gordon Brown.
The Errol Barrow Mirror Image Speech.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 62.0 KB
Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow - Champion of the Caribbean Community (Foreword by Ambassador David Comissiong)
"In celebration of the legacy of the Right Excellent Errol Barrow on the 100th Anniversary of his birth, I offer this slightly amended version of the tribute that I made to this great Father of the independence of our Nation in the Senate of Barbados on June 11." - Ambassador David Comissiong
Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow - Ch
Adobe Acrobat Document 874.0 KB