Errol Walton Barrow, the first Prime Minister of Barbados and one of its National Heroes, is considered the father of  Barbados’ independence.


Soon after the death of Errol Barrow in 1987, a number of his close friends decided to establish an Educational Trust in his memory. The Trust was named The Errol Barrow Memorial Trust and was first established in the United Kingdom. 


The founders included his sister, Dame Nita Barrow, his widow Mrs. Carolyn Barrow, Sir Roy Marshall,  Professor Sir Kenneth Stuart, Sir Hugh Springer, Mr. Theodor H.  Reitman,  Sir Shridath Ramphal, Mr. Aubrey Rose, Sir Antony Murray, Sir Anthony Bamford, Sir Stanley Blanchette,  Sir Frederick Smith,  Sir Fred Phillips and Mr. Peter Morgan.  On 18th January 1989 the Trust was registered in Barbados.


After the death in 1995 of Dame Nita, one of the most distinguished women of her time,  it was decided that her name should be included in the title of the Trust and the Trust was named The Errol & Nita Barrow Educational Trust – a fitting tribute to two great Barbadians.